How I Change Careers from Stock Trading to Software Engineer

How I Change Careers from Stock Trading to Software Engineer

·

2 min read

Introduction

Are you also a software engineer who transitioned from a non-computer science background or currently in the process of transitioning? If so, you're not alone.

In this article, I will share my story of how I changed careers from stock trading to software engineering. I will discuss the challenges I faced, the steps I took, and the lessons I learned. I hope that my story will inspire you to pursue your own career change.

pic source: https://unsplash.com/photos/5_gku5Usbzk

I like this pic lol.

The Challenges

There were many challenges I faced when changing careers from stock trading to software engineering. One of the biggest challenges was learning a new skill set. I had no prior experience in software engineering, so I had to start from scratch. I spent countless hours learning new programming languages, frameworks, and algorithms.

Another challenge I faced was finding a job. The software engineering industry is very competitive, and it can be difficult to get your foot in the door. I faced many rejections, but I eventually found a job at a small company.

The Steps I Took

Here are the steps I took to change careers from stock trading to software engineering:

  1. Learn a new skill set. I started by learning Python and building a website using Django. I also sought guidance from a friend who was knowledgeable in iOS and used UIKit to develop an app. Both of these side projects turned out poorly, but they opened up opportunities for interviews.

  2. Practice your interview skills. I practiced answering common interview questions, and I prepared a portfolio of my work.

  3. Don't give up. I faced many rejections, but I never gave up. I kept learning and practicing, and eventually I found a job.

The Lessons I Learned

I learned a lot from my experience changing careers. Here are some of the lessons I learned:

  • It's important to have a passion for what you do. If you're not passionate about your work, it will be difficult to stay motivated and succeed.

  • It's okay to fail. Everyone fails at some point. The important thing is to learn from your mistakes and keep moving forward.

  • Don't be afraid to ask for help. There are many people who are willing to help you succeed, so don't be afraid to reach out.

Conclusion

Changing careers wasn't the final destination. Learning is an ongoing process, and I continue to strive towards my ideal direction. If you're thinking about making a career change, I encourage you to go for it. It's never too late to start a new chapter in your life.